• Unique Visitor:141,856

    About Bilaspur

    The Bilaspur district was formerly known as Kahlur, a princely state of British India. The ruler acceded to the Government of India on 12 October 1948, and Bilaspur was made an Indian State under a Chief Commissioner. The state of Bilaspur was merged with Himachal Pradesh on 1 July 1954, and became Bilaspur District. Bilaspur is surrounded by Mandi in north; Hamirpur in west and Solan and Shimla districts in south east .The main city of Bilaspur district is situated on the bank of Govind Sagar Lake.  

                            According to the Geographical survey of India, the total area of Bilaspur is 1,167 km sq. It is the second smallest district (area wise) of Himachal Pradesh. From administrative point of view district has been divided into Four Developmental blocks namely Bilaspur Sadar, Ghumarwin, Shri Naina Devi Ji and Jhandutta. There are 151 Panchayats covering 1,061 villages in the district.


    The Bilaspur district lies between 310 12’ 30’’ and 310 35’ 45’’ North latitude and between  760 23’ 45’’ and 760 55’ 40’’ East longitude in the outer hills of the Himalayas next to the Punjab plains and forms a part of the basin of river Sutlej which flows meandering across it for about 90 kilometres.


    Bilaspur district comes under sub tropical climatic zone. The winter spreads from Nov. to March, spring in April and May, summer June to September. The minimum temperature in the winter season goes to 20 C and rises up to maximum 400 C in summer. The annual rainfall in this area varies from 1500 mm to 1800 mm.  


    The net cultivated area of the district is 29,909 Hectares out of which only 3,164Hect is irrigated. The total production of the Agriculture Produce in the district is 41,706 MT out of which 2411MT in Horticulture, 941.8 MT in Fishery. Lift irrigation, kuhals, Tube well and wells are the main sources of irrigation. The elevation varies between 350 meters to 1050 meters above mean sea level.  

    Face File

    Population ( As per 2011 Census )
    Total 3,82,656
    Male 1,92,827
    Female 1,89,282
    Sex Ratio 981 / 1000 (F / M)
    Density of Population (Per Square KM) 327

    People And Culture

    Major Religions Hindu, Muslim, Sikh
    Language Spoken Kahluri or Bilapsuri( Written Script is Devnagri), Hindi
    Traditional Food Maize, Rice and Wheat
    Economy Agriculture based and Service

    Literacy Rate Aggregate ( As Per 2011 Census)

    Male Literacy 92.39%
    Female Literacy 78.90%
    Total 85.67%

    Geographical Area

    Total ( In Hectares) 1,11,776
    Forest Area 14,013
    Cultivated Area 56,011
    Unusable Area 72,423
    Altitude 610 m( above sea level)
    Major Rivers Sutlej ( Hot in the summer and cold in winter)


    Rainfall Max 62 mm, Min 1.5mm
    Temperature Max 37C , Min 5 C


    From State Capital Shimla 85kms
    Near Railway Station Kiratpur 65kms
    Nearest Airport Shimla 85kms


    Length of Pucca Roads(Road in Km) 691.932
    Length of Kutcha Roads(Road in Km) 504.106